Driving under the influence of marijuana is a serious offense that can result in severe legal consequences. Depending on the state, a DUI conviction involving marijuana can be classified as either a misdemeanor or a felony. It is important to understand the laws in your state and take necessary precautions to avoid being charged with driving under the influence of marijuana.
Marijuana DUI Charges
By simply driving after consuming marijuana, an individual could be stuck with two charges for the price of one: DUI and possession of marijuana. In Virginia, a person can be charged with possession for any amount of marijuana or residue that may be found. In most cases, both of these charges are class 1 misdemeanors for first-time offenders.
A marijuana DUI carries the same punishment as other DUIs, whether drug or alcohol. With both of these potential charges being class 1 misdemeanors, the possible penalties include:
- 12 months in jail
- Up to a $2,500 fine
- Completion of certain programs, such as Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP)
It is important to note that these penalties are based on first-time offenses.
DUI Defense Attorneys in Virginia
Driving under the influence of marijuana is a serious charge. Although a misdemeanor, a DUI conviction can have harsh consequences on your life, such as higher insurance premiums and fewer employment opportunities. It is crucialwhen facing these charges to consult with an expert that specializes in DUI law. We here at Tillotson & Martin, LLC go the extra mile for our clients. We understand your future is at stake, and we will employ every strategy possible to provide you the best representation.
If you need assistance, our team is here for you! Contact us at Tillotson & Martin, LLC to discuss your defense today! (757) 568-7978