Coastal Virginia Hit & Run Lawyers
Fight Your Charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Hampton Roads & Newport News
In Virginia, if you're involved in an accident, you're lawfully required to exchange information with the other party. This requirement holds even if you didn't cause the crash or if the collision didn't result in injury to another person. Failure to meet your duties can result in your being charged with a crime. In many cases, the Commonwealth's Attorneys attempt to prove that not only did the driver commit a hit and run, but they were also under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol at the time of the offense. If you're in this situation, you could be facing severe consequences. It's best to consult with a seasoned lawyer to guide you through the process.
Trusting your case to just any attorney won't do. DUI hit and run charges are serious and need aggressive defense. At Tillotson & Martin, our lawyers have an extensive understanding of the criminal justice process as well as DWI law. We have over 30 years of combined experience, wrote the DWI manual judges and prosecutors read, and stay current on matters involving DUI cases. We know what we're doing, and we're here to provide the legal representation you need and the compassionate advocacy you deserve.
We will fight hard toward a favorable outcome in your case. Call us at (757) 568-7978 today.
Hit and Run Involving Injury, Death, or Damage to Attended Property
After an accident involving injury, death, or property damage, you're required to stop at the scene or as close to it as possible without obstructing traffic.
You must provide the other party with the following:
- Your name
- Your address
- Your driver's license number
- Your vehicle registration number
- Reasonable assistance
If the other party is not capable of receiving said information at the time of the accident, you must submit a report with the local law enforcement agency.
Failure to do any of the above is referred to as a hit and run, and it comes with serious penalties.
A hit and run resulting in injury or death or more than $1,000-worth of damage to attended property is a Class 5 felony and punishable by:
- Between 1 and 10 years of imprisonment and/or
- Fine of up to $2,500
An accident causing less than $1,000-worth of damages is a Class 1 misdemeanor, and conviction penalties include:
- Up to 12 months of jail time and/or
- Fine of up to $2,500
What If the Property Was Unattended?
Even if you're involved in an accident and no one was hurt or in the vehicle you collided with, you still have a duty to leave your information with the owner. If they're not around, you must make a reasonable effort to find them or leave a note with your contact information. You must also report the accident to a local law enforcement agency within 24 hours. Failure to do so is also considered a hit and run.
The potential penalties for crashing into unattended property and leaving without meeting your lawful requirements depend on the particulars of the situation.
A hit and run that causes only property damage is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries the following punishments:
- Up to 1 year in jail and/or
- A fine of up to $2,500
If the damage was less than $250, the charge is a Class 4 misdemeanor, which is punishable by:
- A fine of up to $250
- 3 demerit points assessed to the driving record
We're Ready to Help You
At Tillotson & Martin, our Coastal Virginia hit and run attorneys thoroughly prepare for each case we handle. When you hire us, we'll examine all the evidence, conduct interviews, and carry out other necessary tasks for your case. We'll leverage our knowledge and resources to work toward a favorable result on your behalf.
Learn more about your legal options by calling us at (757) 568-7978 or contacting us online today.
Why Choose Our Firm?Put Tillotson & Martin on Your Side
We Wrote the Book.
We were tasked with writing the book on Virginia DUI Law by Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the leading authority in legal publishing. Prosecutors, defense attorneys, and judges often turn to this resource.
We Possess the Knowledge.
Not only are our attorneys committed to attending continued education courses, they lecture and teach courses themselves. In a field as scientific and technical as DUI Defense, keeping our knowledge up to date is crucial to crafting our clients' defense strategies.
We Truly Care.
Mike Tillotson & Jeff Martin go the extra mile for their clients. Our team realizes that this is your future at stake and we will employ every strategy to ensure that we are providing you with the best representation possible.
We Have the Fight to Win.
With nearly 40 years of combined experience, Mike Tillotson and Jeff Martin have successfully handled thousands of DUI cases, and has tried cases across the entire state of Virginia.
Learn more about Attorney Mike Tillotson and Attorney Jeff Martin. They have the experience and expertise that your case requires. Get started on your defense today!