As with other states in this country, in Virginia, if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above the legal limit or while your abilities are impaired, you may be charged with a DUI. States differ on the specifics of their laws and the penalties associated with a conviction, but being found guilty can have serious consequences. In Virginia, these include possible incarceration, fines, and a driver's license suspension. Various questions arise when Virginia residents are convicted of DUIs in other states, as well as when non-residents are charged and convicted in the Commonwealth.
Backed by nearly 40 years of combined experience, our Virginia out-of-state DUI lawyers can help residents and non-residents alike understand their cases and the consequences they can face. Additionally, for charges brought in the Commonwealth of Virginia, we can provide knowledgeable guidance. Our team wrote the book on DWI law that judges, prosecutors, and other attorneys read. We also stay informed on the latest technologies and methods law enforcement officials and the Commonwealth's Attorneys use to collect evidence and build their arguments. Tillotson & Martin focuses mainly on DWI cases, which means you can trust us to skillfully handle your drinking and driving charge.
Get started on your case by speaking with us during a free consultation. Call (757) 568-7978 today. We serve out-of-state drivers from Hampton Roads and Newport News.
I'm a Virginia Resident Convicted of an Out-of-State DUI. Will the Commonwealth Impose Penalties?
If you were found guilty of an out-of-state DUI, you might have been subject to sanctions imposed by that state, such as fines or incarceration. The state will also send the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) the information regarding your conviction.
Except for additional jail time or fines, your out-of-state DUI conviction will be treated as if it had occurred in Virginia.
For instance, you may be subject to:
- Driver's license revocation
- Attendance in an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP)
- Ignition interlock device installation
I'm from Out-of-State and Was Charged with a Virginia DUI. What Happens?
In Virginia, it's unlawful for anyone to operate a motor vehicle when their ability to drive safely is impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. The law applies not only to Virginia residents but also to out-of-state visitors.
The potential penalties for a first offense DUI conviction include:
- A jail term of up to 1 year
- A fine of up to $2,500, with a mandatory minimum of $250
Although the Commonwealth may revoke a resident's driving privileges, preventing them from driving on any road, the State can’t place the same restriction on an out-of-state driver's license. Instead, the out-of-state driver will be prohibited from driving within Virginia's borders. But, Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles will report the conviction to the home state for possible sanctions.
Discuss Your Case Today
Whether you are a resident of Virginia or a non-resident visitor, our Coastal Virginia out-of-state DUI lawyers are ready to help you. We can review all the sanctions the Commonwealth can impose upon residents convicted in another state. Our team can also help visitors understand what a Virginia DWI means for them.
We Wrote the Book.We were tasked with writing the book on Virginia DUI Law by Thomson Reuters Westlaw, the leading authority in legal publishing. Prosecutors, defense attorneys, and judges often turn to this resource.
We Possess the Knowledge.Not only are our attorneys committed to attending continued education courses, they lecture and teach courses themselves. In a field as scientific and technical as DUI Defense, keeping our knowledge up to date is crucial to crafting our clients' defense strategies.
We Truly Care.Mike Tillotson & Jeff Martin go the extra mile for their clients. Our team realizes that this is your future at stake and we will employ every strategy to ensure that we are providing you with the best representation possible.
We Have the Fight to Win.With nearly 40 years of combined experience, Mike Tillotson and Jeff Martin have successfully handled thousands of DUI cases, and has tried cases across the entire state of Virginia.
Call (757) 568-7978 or Fill Out a Form for a Free Case Evaluation